The Place I Belong

OneRepublic - Counting Stars. Play video for lyrics.

I just re-listened to this song thoroughly today, and realized that this is the theme song to my career turning point :)

Yes, I feel like I’ve given up a lot for the work I’m doing right now, but I think it’s totally worth it. I feel like I’m where I’m supposed to be. I’m in the best job I can possibly be in :)

I’m a generalist. I always have been. At school, I was known as the multi-talented kid. Most of the other students looked up to me, but oddly, I’d always been unsure about my true talent and interest. I could do a bit of almost everything that I don’t know what I’m good at, what I truly love to do. What I loved to do, I couldn’t make a career out of it. Or so I thought.

Until I finally gave up almost everything I struggled for in the last 8 years, for a dream I finally realized I’ve always had. A dream I finally decided to pursue and do something about.

A dream of a better education in Indonesia.

As I’ve written in my previous posts, indeed I have walked several steps towards that dream, but I kept on stumbling along the starting line. I thought of taking a degree in education, an ambitious one; in the country known best for it’s education: Finland. But after several failures, I realized that I may have to snooze on that, take a few steps back and take a little detour to see what I might be missing. Now I think I’m starting to figure it out, and I realized this may be the best path afterall.

Yes, I finally took a teaching job. A full-time teacher, or the term I’d prefer: learning facilitator. At school. A school with the closest method to the one I’ve always dreamed for. Nature school, or better known as “Sekolah Alam”.

These kind of schools are the closest models I could imagine to resemble education in Finland. Surely there are so many differences, but at least their methods are quite close. It is not yet ideal, but they’re aware of the ideal education and they’re developing and moving towards it. That’s a great start.

Anyway, having been teaching/facilitating for two months, surely I’ve been through the ups and downs, although I think I couldn’t say I’ve been through the worst, yet.. :D But I can say that I believe this is where I belong. All those wondering of what my true talents are, what I’m actually good at.. I don’t really need to worry anymore. I don’t really have to pick one; I can do it all here! :)

  • I like things to be in order. I like to correct people when they’re wrong. I like to tell and remind people the right thing to do. – This is what teachers do.
  • I like to draw. I like to tinker with things. I like to learn how things work. I understand things better visually and kinesthetically. – This is how teachers in Sekolah Alam teach.
  • I like outdoor activities. I like traveling to natural destinations; be it the ocean or the mountain. – This is what students in Sekolah Alam do.
  • I like speaking in English. I am pretty good at both writing and speaking English, but I might’ve been a bit rusty because I haven’t had any partners to practice with. – This is what the Sekolah Alam I’m in currently practicing; they are intensifying English speaking culture around the school, so I get so many partners to practice speaking English with :)
  • I like playing futsal. I haven’t been playing futsal so much ever since I graduated university, also because I haven’t had any sparing (female) partners. – This is what students like to do in their free time, so I can play with them plus additional point for bonding moments ;)
  • I dream of education that brings out the best in people. The education that believes in each and every person’s potential is already inside of them. The education that help them embrace their potentials and uniqueness. The education where the educators are aware of this and willing to keep on learning. – This is what Sekolah Alam strives for.

I don’t know what else I could ask for. This is the best possible job I can get, so far. Alhamdulillah, thank Allah for showing me this path. This is not the best paying job, indeed, but in this job, we’re not counting dollars; we’re counting stars. The outcome of education is not an instant. It’s a long, long process. The results aren’t shown when they pass the national exam. The results will be seen in 10-20 years later. We are building hopes. We are trying to guide the stars for our future. We are educating children to be the best of people; our future leaders. Hopefully this is the best path to get us to jannah, in syaa Allah. Aamiin :)

Please do leave a comment :)

